Migrating Your Sites from DesktopServer v3.9.x to v5.0

If you have sites that you have created in DesktopServer v3.9.x and would like to work on them in DesktopServer v5.0, you’ll want to follow the instructions below. Before you begin, however, there are some things to note:

  • While you can have both DesktopServer v3.9.x and v5.0 both installed on your system at the same time, you cannot have them both running at the same time.
  • Once you have migrated your site to v5.0, you will still have the original, working version on v3.9.x. In other words, you’ll be able to work on both sites independently and changing one site will not affect the other.
  • The process to migrate from v.3.9.x to v5.0 is only available to people who have an existing installation of DesktopServer Premium v3.9.x as it involves the export capability which is only available on the Premium Version.

Step 1: Export your desired website from DesktopServer v3.9.x

  • Open DesktopServer v3.9.x
  • Select which Developer Plugins you would like to run
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • After authorizing DesktopServer to make changes to your system by either confirming in Windows, or putting in your Administrative password on Macintosh, your web and database services will be started.
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • You are now at the DesktopServer Main Menu
  • Select the, “Export, import or share a website.” Radio Button
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • Select the, “Export or deploy a WordPress website.” Radio Button
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • Select the website you’d like to migrate to DesktopServer v5.0 from the, “From Website” Dropdown
  • Give the site a file name for importing into DesktopServer v5.0 in the, “Export As” Field
  • Select the, “Export to a website archive (.zip file).” Radio Button
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • The next screen will contain several fields that can sometimes be necessary for configuration when exporting to a live site. For the purposes of DesktopServer v5.0 migration, these fields should be left as-is.
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • Enter the file name you would like for this archive
  • Choose the directory in which you’d like this archive to be stored (Optional). Leaving it as-is will store the archive in the same directory as your WordPress sites
  • Once you have entered the information, click, ‘Next’
  • DesktopServer v3.9.x will now prepare your archive to be used for DesktopServer v5.0 migration/import
  • Once complete, click, ‘Next’
  • You will now be shown where your archive has been stored
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • From the Main Menu, select the “Stop or restart the web and database services.”
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • Select the “Stop the web and database services.” Radio Button
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • Once the webservices are stopped, click, ‘Close’ to shut down DesktopServer v3.9.x

Step 2: Import your archive into DesktopServer v5.0

  • Start up DesktopServer v5.0
  • Select which services you would like active
  • Click, ‘Start’
  • Allow DesktopServer to make changes to your system by either clicking, “OK” (Windows) or, enter your password (MacOS)
  • From the main menu, select, “Export, import, and other options.”
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • Select, “Import a DesktopServer compatible website archive.”
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • Browse to the three dots next to the, “Import file:” field and browse to the archive file you created in DesktopServer 3.9.x
  • Double-click on the file
  • DesktopServer will now decompress your archive
  • Upon succcessful decompression, a green checkmark will be placed next to the import file name
  • Enter your Site Name into the Site Name field. This can be the same as the name you had given it in v3.9.x or you can optionally name it something else in order make it easy to know which site you’re working on. As an example, you might give it the sameURL but add ds5 to the name for easy reference.
  • Optionally, you can change your Site root. This is where your WordPress files are stored.
  • Optionally, you can customize your scrubbing options. This is where DesktopServer looks for all instances of the original URL in both the files and database, and changes them to the URL you gave in the Site Name. In some cases, DesktopServer’s automated scrubbing might miss an instance and customizing your scrubbing options can help you fix this issue.
  • Click, ‘Next’
  • DesktopServer v5.0 will now copy the files from you v3.9.x created archive
  • Once complete, you will now have the option of directly viewing the site by clicking on the URL on screen, clicking on the, ‘View Sites’ button (which will open a browser and show all of your installed sites), or click, ‘Next’ to go to the Main Menu

Similar Posts